Databases A-Z List
- Academic Search Premier via Ebsco Multi-disciplinary full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains full text of more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Most full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, arts & literature, medical sciences, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals.
- All EBSCO Databases EBSCOhost® is an intuitive search interface designed to cater to user needs and preferences at every level of research. An EBSCO database is a collection of searchable information that is aggregated and organized for rapid search and retrieval. Some EBSCO databases include Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, etc. An EBSCO interface, such as EBSCOhost®, is a tool or “front end” that is used to search a selected database or multiple databases.
- ARTstor Resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Serves educators, scholars, librarians, and students at universities and community colleges worldwide. Collections are used for teaching and study in subject areas, including art, religion, world history, American Studies, Medieval Studies and many more. Download, save and share images in presentations and papers.
- Associations Unlimited/Encyclopedia of Associations Contains 152,000 detailed listings for organizations all over the world, covering everything from a local Chamber of Commerce to the American Medical Association, and beyond. In addition, IRS on more than 300,000 nonprofit organizations has recently been added to the database.
- Biographies Plus Illustrated via EBSCO In-depth, full-text profiles, with more than 32,000 photographs of the subjects, plus up-to-date bibliographies. Newsmakers and figures of prominence from a wide range of fields. Biographical coverage from a host of high quality Wilson biographical resources, including Current Biography, the World Authors Series, and the Junior Authors & Illustrators series. Includes over 65,000 profiles licensed from a number of respected reference publishers.
- Bloom's Literary Reference Online (NEW!) This electronic resource allows users to search the catalog of Poetry, Drama, Fiction, and Nonfiction Literary Criticism edited by Harold Bloom. Explore Harold Bloom's selection of authors and works that represent his Western literary canon. Watch videos of professor Harold Bloom discuss important authors, great works, and literary themes. Learn strategies for writing good essays.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOBusiness Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
- Business Source Premier via EBSCO The most used business research database. Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Many top management and marketing journals are full text back to 1886. Includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports and detailed profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these are searchable. Updated daily on EBSCOhost.
- CinAHL Full text to more than 600 nursing journals and indexing to more than 3,000 nursing journals
- Contemporary Authors Current biographical and bibliographical details on more than 120,000 modern (20th and 21st century) U.S. and international authors. Each entry contains the most complete and up-to-date data with continuously updated information on the most active authors. Search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more. Approximately 3,000 new entries and 1,000 full-entry updates added annually.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism Full-text literary criticism - once you access this resource select Contemporary Literary Criticism from the list.
Searchable repository of a digitized multi-volume set of reference books that provides excerpts from criticism of the works of major authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. These digital full text articles provide "a historical survey of the critical response to that author's work." - CQ Researcher Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications. Single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by a seasoned journalist.
- Credo Reference Covers every major subject. Consists of award-winning titles from over eighty of the world's leading academic publishers. Proposed content undergoes a highly-selective process before being chosen for the Credo platform and is selected from a range of reference types - including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, chronologies, atlases, and more. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.
- Datamonitor Company Profiles via EBSCO Datamonitor is a research firm that publishes reports on companies and industries. Company Profiles contains reports for over 10,000 companies worlwide. Each 20 to 30 page company profile includes key facts, history, employees, major products, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries. Datamonitor Company Profiles can provide you with an excellent start as you research particular companies.
- DiversityIncOnline magazine that provides information on diversity management. Diversity management is the proactive management of race/culture, gender, orientation, disability and age to ensure equal outcome in relationships with employees, customers, investors and suppliers. Please contact the library for the username and password..
- Drama Criticism (2011--) Online coverage begins with 2011. Full-text literary criticism for drama - once you access this resource select Drama Criticism from the list.
Searchable repository of a digitized multi-volume set of reference books that provides excerpts from criticism of the works of "major play-writes of all eras and nationalities." These digital full text articles provide "a historical survey of the critical response to that author's work." - eBook Collection via EBSCOSearch and view the full text of ebooks.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOEducation Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
- Education Professional Development Collection via EBSCO Designed for professional educators. Highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF. Full text information dates as far back as 1965.
- Electronic Journals Search by name of journal to find which database has your journal. DCCC subscribes to thousands of journal titles. However, they are spread across a number of platforms. Here we have compiled a comprehensive list of the titles, the date ranges included in our subscription to each journal and where they can be found. This is just one more useful tool to access the many resources available to those associated with DCCC.
- ERIC, via EBSCO ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to watch videos online. Films for the Humanities (subjects include Business, Education, History, Nursing and Science). Streaming technology allows you to access high quality video content via the Internet. Instead of downloading an entire video file before viewing it, streaming allows you to begin viewing the video immediately while the rest of the program downloads in the background.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOFor students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law An e-Book covering today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
- Gale Series Index Only Online index to the print Gale Literary Series located in the DCCC Library. Note that the Library does not subscribe to all the titles listed in the online index. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. You can use Gale's Literary Index as a starting point to locate authors and titles covered in Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism.
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOGeneral Science Full Text™ provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
- GreenFILE via EBSCO Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition via EBSCO Full text for 80 consumer health magazines
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCO More than 500 scholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines, as well as, the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
- History Reference Center via EBSCO Most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Contains 57,000 historical documents; 77,000 biographies of historical figures; 37,000 historical photos and maps; and 80 hours of historical videos.
- Hoover's Company Information Provides a wealth of company information for public and private companies including financials, subsidiaries, competitors, biographies, and sector and industry information. Once you click on the link - click on continue and then the Hoover's search page will open.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOHumanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
- Issues & Controversies Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file, Issues and Controversies offers in-depth articles made to inspire thought-provoking debates. This database is great for research papers and debate prep.
- JSTOR - Language & Literature Collection High-quality, interdisciplinary content which includes language and literary criticism, film and mathematics. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
- LION (Literature Online) This collection of leading literary reference and criticism resources contains journals and reference works whose quality and value are recognized by the academic community, together with the renowned and authoritative Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, and specially commissioned biographies which are updated and revised in line with current scholarship and developments. 344 Full-text Journals fully searchable by keyword, phrase, author, subject and other data fields.
- Magill's Medical Guide Diseases, disorders, medical procedures, anatomy, physiology and pharmaceutical information; 6 volume print edition of same information available in the library
- MagillsOnLiterature Plus via EBSCO (NEW!) Editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Composed of approximately 35,000 critical analyses of individual works of literature, 15,000 biographical records, 5,000 images and a glossary of 1,100 literary terms from reference sources such as Masterplots, Critical Surveys, Magills Literary Annual and more.
- MasterFILE Premier Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Offers PDF backfiles (as far back as 1975) for key publications.
- Medline via EBSCO Indexing of more than 4,000 journals with some full text
- Military & Government Collection Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
- New York Times via Proquest
- Newspaper Source via EBSCO Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOOmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
- OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOOmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Opposing ViewpointsOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- OVID Nursing JournalsSearch the following periodicals: American Journal of Nursing; Home Healthcare Nurse; Med/Surg Insider Supplement; Men in Nursing; Nursing; Nursing Critical Care; and Nursing Made Incredibly Easy.
- Philadelphia Inquirer via ProQuestThis publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
- Poetry Criticism - Gale Literature Criticism Online Full-text literary criticism for poetry - once you access this resource select Poetry Criticism from the list.
Searchable repository of a digitized multi-volume set of reference books that provides excerpts from criticism of the works of "major poetry writers of all eras and nationalities." These digital full text articles provide "a historical survey of the critical response to that author's work." - Primary Search via EBSCO Specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms. Contains full text of more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines, many in (searchable) PDF. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990. Indexing goes back to 1985.
- PsycARTICLES via EBSCO From the American Psychological Association (APA), a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains 153,000 articles from 80 journals published by the APA and others. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
- Psychology & Behavioral Science collection via EBSCO Comprehensive database providing nearly 560 full text publications. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
- Psychology & Mental Health Guide To access this particular title click on the Psychology & Mental Health link found under the search boxes.
Online version of the printed reference edition of this comprehensive 5 volume set covering theories, people, social issues, the physiology & anatomy of the nervous system, & various mental illnesses, all in a simple, easy to use A-Z format. Virtually all the content of the printed version is online, including illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes & other back matter. - PubMed Comprehensive indexing to Nursing and Medical citations with links to some full text articles
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOReaders’ Guide Full Text Mega™ includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOReader’s Guide Full Text Select™ is the most popular choice for libraries that want a 100% full-text database which can provide searchable full text, as well as abstracting and indexing for a broad selection of the most-wanted popular periodicals. It is the ultimate tool for educators, students or any library patron seeking comprehensive current events coverage, curriculum support or access to quality periodicals.
- Regional Business News via EBSCO Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection via EBSCO A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. More than 300 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above.
- Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOScience Full Text Select™ provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
- Short Story Criticism - Gale Literature Criticism Online Once you access this resource select Short Story Criticism from the list.
Searchable repository of a digitized multi-volume set of reference books that provides excerpts from criticism of the works of "major short story writers of all eras and nationalities." These digital full text articles provide "a historical survey of the critical response to that author's work." - Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) via EBSCOSocial Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
- Teacher Reference Center Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
- Vocational and Career Collection via EBSCO Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs. Provides full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 600. A majority of full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF. Full-text information contained in this database dates back as far as 1985. Topics include: Advertising, Computer & Data Processing, Criminal Justice, Electrical Technology, Hospitality & Tourism Marketing, Nursing, & more.
- Wiley Online Multidisciplinary database of 10,000 books and 1500 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities
- World Almanac and Book of Facts Almanac content comes from The World Almanac® and Book of Facts, published by Reader's Digest Trade Publishing, reproduced by permission. The monthly Cover Story, "Born This Day," "Did You Know?" and "This Day in History" are created and copyright by Facts On File News Services. Facts On File is an award-winning publisher of print and online reference materials for the school and library market.
Comments (0)
Need Help?
Chat with a reference librarian using the IM chat box below.
You can also contact a reference librarian by phone at (610) 359-5146, by email, or stop by the reference desk.

Loading...
