Skip to main content

Argumentative/Persuasive Resources

Resources for an argumentative/persuasive research assignment or paper.

Databases That Cover Controversial Issues

To find a controversial topic or to gather research on a topic, Opposing Viewpoints, and CQ Researcher are excellent databases to begin your research. Both databases provide full reports on topics that give Pro and Con sides of the argument in addition to backgroun information, timelines, newspaper articles, and further research.

    • Opposing Viewpoints
      View important issues from an alphabetical list of current controversial topics that link directly to magazine/newspaper articles and other resources.
      • CQ Researcher
        CQ Researcher is a magazine style publication in which the entire issue is devoted to a controversial topic each week, including a yes/no debate page. Issues from CQ Researcher date back to 1991 and are a good starting point for an argumentative paper assignment.

        Additional Databases

        In addition to Opposing Viewpoints, and CQ Researcher the following databases can be searched for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles on your topic to give additional information to support your position.

        EBSCO Discover!

        Search across many library databases, open access collections, and the library catalog from one search box!

        (Please note that not all library resources are available through Discover! -- you can find them here.)

        Research databases
        Limit Your Results

        Advanced Search

        Get Discover! search tips.

        Discover!

        Report problems or send feedback.

        Requesting Articles

        Intracampus Borrowing

        Delaware County Community College's Intra-Campus Borrowing program helps students, faculty and staff from branch campuses get access to materials located at Marple campus.

        Information About Intra-Campus Borrowing

        Intra-Campus Borrowing Form

        Interlibrary Loan

        Delaware County Community College's Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service obtains materials that are not currently owned by the library.

        Frequently Asked Questions

        Request an Interlibrary Loan