This database is a great place to get started. It allows users to search on particular literary works in Poetry, Drama, Fiction, and Nonfiction found in the Western literary canon. It also provides author biographies, some literary criticism, and main themes found in particular works. Learn strategies for writing good essays.
This resource has online reference resources that is a great place to start research. It has a Concept Map that can help brainstorm keywords - it also provides great background for many literary works and writers.
This database provides brief plot summaries, character profiles, and detailed setting discussions for many literary works including long and short fiction, poetry, and drama. There are biographies and also some critical analyses. This database should help provide keywords to assist in further in-depth searching.
Provides literary terms and tips on how to write a literature paper.
Print Resources found in the Learning Commons - Reference Section
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
by Gabrielle H. Cody (Editor); Evert Sprinchorn (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN1861 .C65 2007
Encyclopedia of the Novel
by Paul Schellinger (Editor)
Call Number: REF PT 7760 .T84 1999
A Handbook to Literature
by William Harmon; Clarence Hugh Holman; William Flint Thrall
Call Number: REF PN 41 .H355 2000
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
by Michael Groden (Editor); Martin Kreiswirth (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN81 .J554 1994
Literature and Its Times
by Joyce Moss
Call Number: REF PN50 .L574 1997
Information about the historical background of over 300 often-studied literary works from around the world. This five-volume set is arranged chronologically by major historical periods.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
by Roland Greene (Editor-In-Chief); Clare Cavanagh (Editor); Stephen Cushman (Editor); Jahan Ramazani (Editor); Paul Rouzer (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN1021 .N39 2012
World LIterature and Its Times
by Joyce Moss (Editor); Lorraine Valestuk (Editor); David Galens
Call Number: REF PN50 .M625
This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry, and non-fiction from around the world.
Finding biographical information might help the literary research process. Search the Library's catalog for books or eBooks about an author. Select the subject field in the drop-down box & search by the author's last name
Literature resources and criticism selected by Harold Bloom. Includes reference essays and scholarly criticism; full-length videos of classic plays and films; hundreds of full-text, classic works; “How to Write about” guides; and more.