Contains: Academic Search Premier, Associated Press Images Collection, Business Source Premier, CINAHL with Full Text, eBook Collection, ERIC, Greenfile, Health Source, Literary Reference Center Plus, MagillOnLiterature Plus, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, Newswires, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Regional Business News, Religion and Philosophy Collection, Teacher Reference Center, and Vocational and Career Collection
Literature resources and criticism selected by Harold Bloom. Includes reference essays and scholarly criticism; full-length videos of classic plays and films; hundreds of full-text, classic works; “How to Write about” guides; and more.
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to watch videos online. Films for the Humanities (subjects include Business, Education, History, Nursing and Science). Streaming technology allows you to access high quality video content via the Internet. Instead of downloading an entire video file before viewing it, streaming allows you to begin viewing the video immediately while the rest of the program downloads in the background.
Using a computer with a high-speed Internet connection, you can stream videos from any location.
Online index to the print Gale Literary Series located in the DCCC Library. Note that the Library does not subscribe to all the titles listed in the online index. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. You can use Gale's Literary Index as a starting point to locate authors and titles covered in Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism.
Online index to the print Gale Literary Series located in the DCCC Library. Note that the Library does not subscribe to all the titles listed in the online index.
Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Useful resources for patient education. Indexes 80 full-text popular health magazines, 110 reference books, Clinical Reference Systems reports and pamphlets. Limited professional/peer reviewed (scholarly) content.
Credible, professional quality nursing and health science articles. Provides database limits to narrow search results by publication date and peer review. Indexes 800+ journals, of which 280 are peer reviewed, full-text journals.
Provides a wealth of company information for public and private companies including financials, subsidiaries, competitors, biographies, and sector and industry information. Once you click on the link - click on continue and then the Hoover's search page will open.
Executives on the Move
Hoover's Business Insider
Updates @ Hoover's
Search by name of journal to find which database has your journal. DCCC subscribes to thousands of journal titles. However, they are spread across a number of platforms. Here we have compiled a comprehensive list of the titles, the date ranges included in our subscription to each journal and where they can be found. This is just one more useful tool to access the many resources available to those associated with DCCC.
Search for journal titles using either a search box or the browse feature.
Useful for background research, this reference e-book provides basic information about diseases, disorders, medical procedures, anatomy, physiology and pharmaceuticals arranged alphabetically by topic. This is the e-book version of the 5-volume print edition, which is available in the Marple Learning Commons.
To access this particular title click on the Magill's link found under the search boxes.
Editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Composed of approximately 35,000 critical analyses of individual works of literature, 15,000 biographical records, 5,000 images and a glossary of 1,100 literary terms from reference sources such as Masterplots, Critical Surveys, Magills Literary Annual and more.
MagillOnLiterature Plus™, produced by Salem Press, combines all the quality content of both MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors in a fully integrated and enhanced single database.
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. Offers PDF backfiles (as far back as 1975) for key publications.
American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, and more.
Search across more than 5,600 scholarly journals using the authoritative index of biomedical literature created by the US National Library of Medicine. Designed for health science professionals. Provides limited full-text; use the FindIt service to locate articles in another database or request them via interlibrary loan.
Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Air Force Comptroller, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
The Advocate, Arizona Daily Sun, The Australian Magazine, Bangkok Post, Bangor Daily News, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, Daily Courier, Delaware State News, The Denver Post, FOX News Sunday, Good Morning America, Hardball, Irish Times, Japan Times, Al Jazeera, Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, Lancaster New Era, Morning Edition, New York Times, Newsday, Philadelphia Daily News, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Pittsburgh Tribune Review, Portland Press Herald, Reading Eagle, The San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Sudan Tribune, Talk of the Nation, The Times of India, Toronto Star, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, York Daily Record
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Search more than 50 professional/scholarly full-text journal titles and eBooks selected especially for the research and study needs of DCCC students in the nursing and allied health programs. Journal titles include AJN: American Journal of Nursing, Home Healthcare Nurse, Med/Surg Insider Supplement, Men in Nursing, Nursing, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and more. Topics span gerontology, medical/surgical nursing, pathophysiology, pediatric nursing, pharmacology, and psychiatric and mental health nursing.
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Full-text literary criticism for poetry - once you access this resource select Poetry Criticism from the list.
Searchable repository of a digitized multi-volume set of reference books that provides excerpts from criticism of the works of "major poetry writers of all eras and nationalities." These digital full text articles provide "a historical survey of the critical response to that author's work."
This multi-volume reference set is also available in print in the DCCC library reference section.
Specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms. Contains full text of more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines, many in (searchable) PDF. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990. Indexing goes back to 1985.
Appleseeds, Boys’ Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains 153,000 articles from 80 journals published by the APA and others. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science, Developmental Psychology, European Journal of Psychological Assessment, Experimental Psychology, Families, Systems, & Health, Group Dynamics: Theory, Research, and Practice, Health Psychology, History of Psychology, International Journal of Stress Management, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Comparative Psychology, Journal of Counseling Psychology, Journal of Family Psychology, Journal of Psychology, Law and Human Behavior, Neuropsychology, Personality Disorders: Theory, Research, and Treatment, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychology and Aging, Psychology of Violence, Psychotherapy, Rehabilitation Psychology, Social Psychology
Comprehensive database providing nearly 560 full text publications. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection include: Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Cognitive Neurosciences, Journal of Mental Health, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Nordic Journal of Psychiatry, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology, and many more.
To access this particular title click on the Psychology & Mental Health link found under the search boxes.
Online version of the printed reference edition of this comprehensive 5 volume set covering theories, people, social issues, the physiology & anatomy of the nervous system, & various mental illnesses, all in a simple, easy to use A-Z format. Virtually all the content of the printed version is online, including illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes & other back matter.
Search Full-Text, Indexes and Glossaries; Browse Categories; Create a Profile in order to save articles, searches and citations.
Comprehensive search interface for professional and peer reviewed (scholarly) biomedical literature maintained by the US National Library of Medicine. Designed for healthcare professionals. Provides limited full-text; use the LinkSource service located under Full Text Links to access full-text articles in another database or request them via interlibrary loan.
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. More than 300 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above.
Arabica, Biblical Interpretation, British Journal of Theological Education, Christian Century, Church & State, Diogenes, Ethics, Evangelical Quarterly, Feminist Studies, Folklore, Futurist, Greek Orthodox Theological Review, Israel Studies, Journal of Applied Philosophy, Modern Theology, Philosophia Africana, Quaker Studies, Religion & the Arts, Studies in Central & East Asian Religions, Tikkun, U.S. Catholic, Worldviews: Environment Culture Religion, and many more.
NOTE: 5 simultaneous user limit.
"Safari Books Online provides access to digital books and videos on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos and much more."
Once you access this resource select Short Story Criticism from the list.
Searchable repository of a digitized multi-volume set of reference books that provides excerpts from criticism of the works of "major short story writers of all eras and nationalities." These digital full text articles provide "a historical survey of the critical response to that author's work."
This multi-volume reference set is also available in print in the DCCC library reference section.
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
History of Education Quarterly, Black Collegian, Chronicle of Higher Education, Advances in Physiology Education, Adults Learning, Gifted Child Today, Tech Directions, American Music Teacher, Independent School, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education, Arts & Activities, College Mathematics Journal, Social Education, Community College Journal of Research & Practice
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs. Provides full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 600. A majority of full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF. Full-text information contained in this database dates back as far as 1985. Topics include: Advertising, Computer & Data Processing, Criminal Justice, Electrical Technology, Hospitality & Tourism Marketing, Nursing, & more.
American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more