This lesson provides strategies for evaluating library sources for relevance to professional, academic research in the health disciplines, and tips for selecting the best sources for academic assignments.
This lesson provides strategies for evaluating freely available health information on the Web, and tips for identifying and selecting credible, professional-quality Internet sources for the health disciplines.
This lesson will introduce formatting requirements for source documentation according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, or APA style. Both in-text and bibliographic References page citations will be reviewed.
Learn how to automatically generate a citation for an article from an EBSCOhost database, how to format the citation text, and where to find additional resources for checking your citation style.
Learn how to automatically generate a citation for an article from the Ovid Nursing Journals database, how to format the citation text, and where to find additional resources for checking your APA article citation style.
55 mins. Recording of the 1/28/2015 webinar:
See our nursing and allied health research databases in action! Demonstrations in CINAHL and Ovid Nursing Journals will be followed by hands-on activities and plenty of time for Q&A. (Click-through to YouTube and select Show More in the video description for video chapter-level links.)
Learn what information to include in a citation for a journal article you found in a database and how to format it according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition. Includes DOI (digital object identifier) look-up at CrossRef.org.
1 hr. Recording of the Feb. 4, 2014 webinar.
Learn how to identify the source types you are citing in your research and how to reference them properly in APA format during this hands-on webinar. We will also cover general APA References list formatting requirements. Come prepared with questions that we can use as examples during the webinar!
PubMed Tutorials (Brief): Tutorials for using the free PubMed database, which indexes many medical journals but provides limited full text (look for the FindIt button)