Skip to main content


Discover!

Use the library's Web-scale discovery search interface, Discover!, to find all of the best resources for your assignment or coursework.

What is Discovery!?

Discover! is the Delaware County Community College Library Services' instance of the EBSCO Discovery Service

Discover! indexes content from many library databases and the library catalog, as well as open access resources from the Web.  Discover! enables you to search across the Learning Commons library collection and many databases and e-resources from a single search box.

(Please note that not all library resources are available through Discover! -- you can find them here.)

For more information, please visit the Discover! FAQ.

EBSCO Discover!

Search across many library databases, open access collections, and the library catalog from one search box!

(Please note that not all library resources are available through Discover! -- you can find them here.)

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Advanced Search

Get Discover! search tips.

Discover!

Report problems or send feedback.

How do I use Discover!?

Discover! is a starting point for research across the library's resource collections and subject disciplines.

Use Discover! to find peer-reviewed and popular articles, books and e-books, reference sources and statistics, videos and images, and more!

Tips for Using Discover!:

 

Searching

  • Run individual keyword searches from the Discover! search box.
    • If you want your keyword to appear in the title of your search results, select the Title radio button.
    • Searching for content by a specific author?  Select the Author radio button.
  • Have more than one keyword?  Chain keywords into search strings with the AND operator; connect synonyms with the OR operator.
  • Have a keyword with multiple endings (suffixes)?  Use the * (truncation)operator to retrieve all versions of the term.

Keywords: student, school, loans, delinquency

Search string: (student OR school) AND loan* AND delinquen*

Refining the Results List

  • Limit your search -- the following settings will limit your results before you submit your search.  You can set more than one limit for the same search:
    • to full-text results only using the Discover! search box or Advanced Search form
    • to peer reviewed (scholarly) results only using the Discover! search box or Advanced Search form
    • to library catalog results only using the Discover! search box or Advanced Search form
    • by publication date using the Advanced Search form
  • Filter your results -- the following settings on the search results menu will update your search results after you submit your search.  You can use more than one filter for the same search:
    • by source types

Source Type filters: academic journals or magazines, e-books or books, biographies, videos, and more!

    • by subject area

Search string: (student OR school) AND loan* AND delinquen*

Subject filters: credit unions, loans, student loans,.. etc.

    • by publication title

Search string: (student OR school) AND loan* AND delinquen*

Publication filters: vital speeches of the day, chronicle of higher education, wall street journal - eastern edition,.. etc.

    • by content provider (database)

Search string: (student OR school) AND loan* AND delinquen*

Content Provider filters: Academic Search Premier, Credo Reference Collections, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Newspaper Source

    • ...and by any limit listed above!

For more search tips and tricks, refer to the Discovery! User Guide and EBSCO's Searching Tips.

Need Help?

Chat with a reference librarian using the link below:

You can also contact a reference librarian by phone at (610) 359-5149, by email, or stop by the Information Desk.

Contact Us

Marple Campus
Learning Commons

Learning Commons Information Desk:
(610) 359-5149

Learning Commons Hours* - Fall 2015:

Information Desk:

Monday - Thursday:  
7:30 a.m.- 10 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sunday: Closed


Circulation Desk:
Monday - Thursday:
8 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Sunday: Closed

*Please check the Learning Commons' homepage for exceptions to hours listed above

Library Reference Hours* - Fall 2015:
Walk-in research and citation help at Marple:
Monday - Friday:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Library Chat online available 24/7/365!

*Please check the Library Services' homepage for exceptions to hours listed above

Email Ask A Librarian

See more contact info