Skip to main content

Research Workshops

Information and schedules for workshops offered through Library Services. These workshops are offered on-campus, online, and via simulcast. Students completing a specific series of workshops can earn a digital badge.

Research Workshops

Workshop Title Workshop Description Date Time Location Room
Getting Started with Research Learn to interpret assignment requirements, identify a research topic, gather background information, develop a research question, determine the type of information you need, and develop a research strategy. 1/29/2018 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Finding Relevant Sources Learn to identify relevant sources to answer your research question, select useful search tools, search effectively, and evaluate your search results to select the sources for your assignment. 2/5/2018 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Scanning your search results It’s easy to get overwhelmed when searching for information. We’ll learn how to use strategies like scanning and pre-reading to quickly analyze database and Google search results so that you can more quickly and confidently pick the right articles for your research assignment. 2/6/18 11:05 AM -12:05 PM Southeast Center Southeast Center Room 121
Scanning your search results It’s easy to get overwhelmed when searching for information. We’ll learn how to use strategies like scanning and pre-reading to quickly analyze database and Google search results so that you can more quickly and confidently pick the right articles for your research assignment. 2/8/18 11:05 AM -12:05 PM Upper Darby Room 108 (Upper Darby)
Organizing and Citing Your Research Learn about tools and services for saving and citing your sources, integrating your sources into your paper, and writing in-text and end-of-paper references and citations. 2/12/2018 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Information formats and how to use them Picking the right article for your research assignment depends on the type of information you need. We’ll talk about the difference between the kind of information you’ll find in magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, and how to use each of these types of articles in a research project. Print, online, and database sources will be addressed. 2/20/2018 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Information formats and how to use them Picking the right article for your research assignment depends on the type of information you need. We’ll talk about the difference between the kind of information you’ll find in magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, and how to use each of these types of articles in a research project. Print, online, and database sources will be addressed. 2/20/18 11:05 AM -12:05 PM Southeast Center Southeast Center Room 121
Information formats and how to use them Picking the right article for your research assignment depends on the type of information you need. We’ll talk about the difference between the kind of information you’ll find in magazine, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, and how to use each of these types of articles in a research project. Print, online, and database sources will be addressed. 2/22/18 11:05 AM -12:05 PM Upper Darby Room 108 (Upper Darby)
Scanning your search results It’s easy to get overwhelmed when searching for information. We’ll learn how to use strategies like scanning and pre-reading to quickly analyze database and Google search results so that you can more quickly and confidently pick the right articles for your research assignment. 3/1/2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Getting Started with Research Learn to interpret assignment requirements, identify a research topic, gather background information, develop a research question, determine the type of information you need, and develop a research strategy. 3/6/2018 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Types of Authors Ever wonder about the person who wrote the article you’re reading? The way authors write—and the things they write about—depend a lot on their job training and title. Journalists, scholars, bloggers, students, and other types of authors all have different ways of using evidence and making claims. We’ll talk about the differences between these types of authors and how their work influences the way they present the information. 3/6/18 11:05 AM -12:05 PM Southeast Center Southeast Center Room 121
Types of Authors Ever wonder about the person who wrote the article you’re reading? The way authors write—and the things they write about—depend a lot on their job training and title. Journalists, scholars, bloggers, students, and other types of authors all have different ways of using evidence and making claims. We’ll talk about the differences between these types of authors and how their work influences the way they present the information. 3/8/18 11:05 AM -12:05 PM Upper Darby Room 108 (Upper Darby)
Types of Authors Ever wonder about the person who wrote the article you’re reading? The way authors write—and the things they write about—depend a lot on their job training and title. Journalists, scholars, bloggers, students, and other types of authors all have different ways of using evidence and making claims. We’ll talk about the differences between these types of authors and how their work influences the way they present the information. 3/22/2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Getting Started with Research Learn to interpret assignment requirements, identify a research topic, gather background information, develop a research question, determine the type of information you need, and develop a research strategy. 3/28/2018 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Finding Relevant Sources Learn to identify relevant sources to answer your research question, select useful search tools, search effectively, and evaluate your search results to select the sources for your assignment. 4/4/2018 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Finding Relevant Sources Learn to identify relevant sources to answer your research question, select useful search tools, search effectively, and evaluate your search results to select the sources for your assignment. 4/5/2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Organizing and Citing Your Research Learn about tools and services for saving and citing your sources, integrating your sources into your paper, and writing in-text and end-of-paper references and citations. 4/11/2018 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Organizing and Citing Your Research Learn about tools and services for saving and citing your sources, integrating your sources into your paper, and writing in-text and end-of-paper references and citations. 4/12/2017 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Marple Computer Classroom Learning Commons (Marple)
Loading